Skip to content

Vegan + Omnivore = Broccoli “Cheddar” Soup + Chicken and Sausage Baked Ziti

March 8, 2011

While I am now officially in Veganland, my hungry bear of a husband is most definitely not.  We are learning to compromise so that I don’t feel like I am killing animals in his name, and he doesn’t feel like he is subsisting on oatmeal and nutritional yeast.

Thus, I agreed to cook something for him tonight that has meat in it for fear that The Bear might go on strike if I didn’t.  We compromised and I made a yummy Broccoli “Cheddar” vegan soup from thedailygarnish.com and I made a modified Weight Watchers chicken apple sausage baked ziti for the Bear.

This is the baked ziti for the Bear.  However, I did not tell him that I mixed real cheese with Daiya (50/50) hopefully he won’t notice!

Here is my big cup of vegan Broccoli Cheddar Soup.  I already had a cranberry kale salad from Whole Foods with some peanut tofu, lest you think I don’t eat enough.  In fact, I was too hungry to stop to take a picture of the Whole Foods deliciousness.

Also, since I am a fan of Q and A, I will add the blogger ABC’s.. :)

A. Age: 28

B. Bed size: Queen, but hopefully we will soon get a king when we move into a house

C. Chore you dislike: Putting wet clothes into the drier, sweeping and mopping

D. Dogs: Rocky, a boxer mix and temporarily Sheldon, a border collie mix

E. Essential start to your day: A yoga sun salutation and big mug of yerba mate tea

F. Favorite color: Pink :)

G. Gold or silver: Platinum, baby

H. Height: 5’3″

I. Instruments you play(ed): Violin.  Does the recorder in the 3rd grade count?

J. Job title: Social Worker, Yoga Teacher, Weight Watchers leader

K. Kids: Rocky aka “Million Dollar Punim”

L. Live: In Austin, TX where we moved a year and a half ago from Manhattan, NYC

M. Mom’s name: Elinor

N. Nicknames: Karey, karebear

O. Overnight hospital stays: None

P. Pet peeves: Rude people, narcissism

Q. Quote from a movie: “Hi, I’m Elle Woods, and this is Bruiser Woods, we are both Gemini Vegetarians” – Legally Blonde

R. Righty or lefty: Righty

S. Siblings: Alison

T. Time you wake up: 7am

U. Underwear: Just in case my boss is reading this, I take the 5th

V. Vegetables you dont’ like: Beets, and olives if they count

W. What makes you run late: Walking Rocky and forgetting to get gas before work

X. X-rays you’ve had: Nose, knee, neck- by a crappy chiropractor

Y. Yummy food you make: Everything- I hope! I love my green smoothies, the bear loves my baked ziti

Z. Zoo animal favorites: Bears of course!

What are your ABC’s?

xoxo

K

5 Comments leave one →
  1. redhead permalink
    March 14, 2011 4:42 pm

    i adore the polar bears… and hate olives too… xo

  2. April 1, 2011 12:39 am

    Hi Karen, the baked ziti looks great! I’m having my own whole wheat penne/italian vegan sausage & veggies thing for dinner now. Sometimes I add a little Diaya too :) Yum! Is it ok if I link to your blog in my next weekly post under the “mentions”?

    • April 1, 2011 1:26 am

      Thank you so much for the suggestion for Daiya- I love Daiya. And I would be so flattered for you to link to me. I hope it is ok that I linked to your blog. I think it is such an inspiration.

  3. April 3, 2011 2:38 pm

    Hi, Karen.

    I found your new blog through Sheryl’s blog, and I’m excited to follow along on your Vegan adventures. In truth, I’ve been interested in incorporating a “more-Vegan” approach to my diet, alothough totally not ready to go full-throttle.

    Catch ya later!

    -*amanda* from http://amandasproject26272829.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

